Fastest News Updates around the World

iOS 17 and the NameDrop Feature: Exploring the Benefits and Risks

87

- Advertisement -

iOS 17 and the NameDrop Feature: Helpful or Dangerous?

Apple fans have been eagerly downloading iOS 17 and getting their hands on the new iPhone 15 series, which has been on shelves for a few weeks. While there are some exciting and useful features in these upgrades, there are also some that have fans divided.

The Controversy Surrounding NameDrop

One feature that has sparked a debate among Apple fans is NameDrop. Some users appreciate the convenience of being able to effortlessly share their contact information by simply raising their phone. On the other hand, there are concerns about the potential risks of sharing contact information too easily or having it stolen.

Users on X (formerly Twitter) expressed worries about the feature compromising their safety. Particularly, some women were concerned about encountering unwanted attention in public spaces. For example, a user named @ChanSteele tweeted, “How do you NameDrop a fake number? Asking for all women.”

These safety concerns are valid, and if you share them and wish to disable NameDrop, read on to learn about your options for managing NameDrop.

For more information on iOS 17, check out our guide on fixing the most annoying features and steps to take before updating.

Is NameDrop Dangerous?

The good news is that NameDrop isn’t inherently dangerous. According to Apple, you have the ability to select which pieces of your contact information are shared when using NameDrop.

Furthermore, when two iPhones are brought together and the NameDrop option appears, you have only two choices: Receive Only or Share. If you choose Receive Only, you will only receive the other person’s contact information. If you select Share, you will send your contact information while receiving the other person’s contact information in return.

- Advertisement -

So even if you accidentally NameDrop with someone you didn’t intend to, you have options. You can be selective about the information you share or choose to only receive the other person’s information.

However, if you still feel uncomfortable with the NameDrop feature, you can easily disable it. Keep in mind that NameDrop is automatically enabled when you download iOS 17 or purchase an iPhone 15, so you will need to turn it off if you don’t want it active on your phone.

How to Disable NameDrop

If you want to permanently disable NameDrop, it’s a straightforward process:

1. Open the Settings app.

2. Tap on General.

3. Navigate to the AirDrop tab.

4. Once you’re on the AirDrop tab, simply toggle the Bring Devices Together option off. It’s as easy as that. If you change your mind and decide to re-enable NameDrop, you can toggle the Bring Devices Together option back on.

For more information, read our reviews of the iPhone 15 and 15 Plus, as well as the iPhone 15 Pro and Pro Max.

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More