Fastest News Updates around the World

The Conjuring Universe: A Timeline of Horror Revealing the Spine-Chilling Universe


- Advertisement -

The Conjuring Universe: A Timeline of Horror

Over the past decade, several movie franchises have tried to establish cinematic universes. However, none of them have managed to replicate the massive success of The Conjuring Universe. The franchise was kickstarted by James Wan’s 2013 film, which was simply named The Conjuring. The unexpected triumph of that film paved the way for something much bigger. In 2014, Annabelle, directed by John Leonetti, exceeded all expectations and grossed a staggering $250 million worldwide. Since then, The Conjuring’s creepy universe has continued to expand, with a total of nine titles as of 2023.

The Nun (1952)

The timeline begins with Corin Hardy’s The Nun, set in 1952. Although other events take place before it in the Conjuring Universe, The Nun is placed first because the primary events of the story occur before all the others. Father Burke and Sister Irene are sent by the Vatican to Romania to investigate the mysterious suicide of a nun. Little do they know, they will face the demonic entity known as Valek, unleashing evil upon the world.

Annabelle Creation (1955)

David F. Sandberg’s Annabelle Creation serves as an origin story for the creepy porcelain doll. The film takes place in 1955, as doll maker Samuel Mullins and his wife Esther take in children from a closed orphanage. This is when the doll begins to exhibit its malevolent power, marking the beginning of its reign of terror.

The Nun II (1956)

A year after Annabelle Creation, The Nun II takes place. Despite having no direct connections to its predecessor, the film follows Sister Irene and Maurice “Frenchie” Theriault as they investigate mysterious deaths at an all-girls boarding school in France.

Annabelle (1967)

- Advertisement -

In 1967, John Leonetti’s Annabelle focuses on the horrors induced by the titular doll. This film serves as a middle chapter, sandwiched between Annabelle Creation and Annabelle Comes Home. It fills a crucial gap in the timeline, showcasing Annabelle’s reign of terror before being acquired by the Warrens.

The Conjuring Uni verse_

Annabelle Comes Home (1970)

Gary Dauberman’s Annabelle Comes Home takes place in 1970, specifically on the night when Ed and Lorraine Warren bring the doll to their house. This film seamlessly connects to the events of The Conjuring, as it occurs just before the main events of the first film.

The Conjuring (1971)

James Wan’s The Conjuring is the film that started it all. The majority of the story is set in 1971, with references to past events and the introduction of Annabelle. This horror flick serves as the foundation of The Conjuring Universe, with the potential for future films to explore events both before and after this story.

The Curse of La Llorona (1973)

The Curse of La Llorona, directed by Michael Chaves, takes place in 1973. While it is not directly tied to other films in the franchise, it features Father Perez, who appeared in Annabelle. This film can be watched anytime after Annabelle without causing confusion in the timeline.

By following this timeline, you can fully grasp the expansive and interconnected world of The Conjuring Universe, ensuring a spine-chilling experience from start to finish.

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More