Fastest News Updates around the World

UEFA Unveils Fresh Qualification Process for 2026 World Cup


- Advertisement -

The European Football Association (UEFA) has announced a new system of European qualifiers for the 2026 World Cup, which will be held in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

UEFA has announced that it will propose that FIFA use the new qualification system after increasing the number of European teams participating in the 2026 World Cup to 16 teams instead of 13.

And the European Union Executive Committee said in an official statement that the group stage will follow the normal league layout with home and away matches, with teams divided into 12 groups of 4 or 5 teams each.

The first from each group will qualify directly for the 2026 World Cup, while the 12 runners-up will take part in the play-offs to be held in March 2026 with 16 teams.

In addition to the 12 finalists, 4 best teams will be selected in the European Nations League for the 2024-2025 season, and the matches of the Golden Square stage will be played from one match, then the finals from one match.

In a statement, the European Football Association also announced the date of the draw for the group stage of the Euro 2024 final, which will be held in Germany from 14 June to 14 July 2024.

The tournament draw will take place on Saturday, December 2, in Hamburg, Germany.

Source: agencies

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More